Go Your Own Way

I used to think I had life all figured out.

That is definitely not the case…

I used to be dead set on what career field I wanted to go into and where I wanted to be by the age of 25. Over the years those plans have changed numerous times, & that’s okay. I used to feel like I was falling behind most people I graduated high school with. It seems like so many of them have it all figured out. The career, the family, the pretty home — the whole nine yards.

But you know what? Life is not a race. It’s not about who gets to the finish line faster. It’s about living life at your own pace. Personally, it has taken me longer to realize exactly what kind of life I want to create for myself, but that does not mean that I am any less capable of having a successful life than any other person.

What I am trying to say is that sometimes life does not go the way that we planned and you just have to “Go Your Own Way” (Fleetwood Mac fans, anyone?).

Anywho, I have done a lot of soul-searching lately to be sure I am making the right decision when it comes to deciding my future. To some, it’s “just a college major, no big deal” – but to me, that is my whole life on a platter. I would much rather take my time and be 100% sure that I am going into a field that I will absolutely love rather than rushing into it and hating my job at the end of the day.

Maybe I am just overthinking it all. Either way, I am in no way in competition with anyone else. I am focused on myself and outgrowing my limits to be the best that I can be.

“Just because my path is different does not mean that I am lost.”

This being said, there is absolutely nothing wrong with being sure of who you want to be from the get-go. That does not mean that you rushed into it, it just means that you’re doing what your heart is truly destined to do. Every person is different in their own way, & that is one of the main things that makes life so beautiful. I think it is awesome when someone knows exactly what they want out of life and they pursue it! I encourage those people completely.

At the end of the day, as long as we are happy and content with our decisions, then that is a success in my book. It doesn’t matter how long it takes or how many times you change your mind, as long as you are happy that is all that truly matters.

fcc7eb35e05b12bf452dccca2efd2bdb.jpg

Leave a Reply

